“A Bridge Over Troubled Waters: Dispute Resolution in the Law of
International Watercourses and the Law of the Sea”

Monday, 25 September – Tuesday, 26 September 2017

Monday, 25 September 2017

09:00 - 09:30 Registration & Coffee
09:30 - 09:45 Welcome Address Prof. Hélène Ruiz Fabri (Max Planck Institute Luxembourg)
09:45 - 11:00 Panel I: 20 Years to the Gabčíkovo-Nagymaros Decision: Developments in Adjudicating Transboundary Freshwater Disputes
Chair: Prof. Pierre-Marie Dupuy (Graduate Institute of Inter-national and Development Studies)
Speakers: Mr Samuel Wordsworth (Essex Court Chambers), Prof. Cesare P.R. Romano (Loyola Marymount University), Judge Peter Tomka (ICJ)
11:00 - 11:15 Q & A Session
11:15 - 11:45 Coffee Break
11:45 - 13:00 Panel II: Procedural Principles of International Water Law and the Resolution of Transboundary Freshwater Disputes
Chair: Prof. Jutta Brunnée (University of Toronto)
Speakers: Prof. Stephen C. McCaffrey (University of the Pacific), Prof. Owen McIntyre (University College Cork), Judge Joan E. Donoghue (ICJ)
13:00 - 13:15 Q & A Session
13:15 - 14:15 Lunch
14:15 - 15:30 Panel III: The Role of Water Agreements and Institutions in the Resolution of Transboundary Freshwater Disputes
Chair: Prof. Alan Boyle (University of Edinburgh)
Speakers: Prof. Itay Fishhendler (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Ms Judith Levine (Permanent Court of Arbitration), Prof. Laurence Boisson de Chazournes (University of Geneva)
15:30 - 15:45 Q & A Session
15:45 - 16:15 Coffee Break
16:15 - 17:30 Panel IV: Current Transboundary Freshwater Disputes - North Africa, South Asia, and Southeast Asia
Chair: Prof. Laurence Boisson de Chazournes (University of Geneva)
Speakers: Dr Salman M.A. Salman (International Water Resources Association (IWRA)), Prof. Ashok Swain (Uppsala University), Prof. Alistair Rieu-Clarke (University of Dundee)
17:30 - 17:45 Q & A Session
17:45 - 19:00 Reception

Tuesday, 26 September 2017

09:00 - 09:30 Registration & Coffee
09:30 - 10:45 Panel I: International Procedural Law Before the ICJ, the ITLOS and Annex VII Arbitral Tribunals
Chair: Judge Rüdiger Wolfrum (ITLOS)
Speakers: Prof. Marcelo Kohen (Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies), Mr Paul Reichler (Foley Hoag LLP), Sir Michael Wood (20 Essex Street)
10:45 - 11:00 Q & A Session
11:00 - 11:30 Coffee Break
11:30 - 12:45 Panel II: Choice of Means of Dispute Settlement in the Law of the Sea
Chair: Prof. Tullio Treves (Curtis, Mallet-Prevost, Colt & Mosle LLP)
Speakers: Prof. Liesbeth Lijnzaad (Maastricht University), Prof. Natalie Klein (Macquarie University), Prof. Bernard H. Oxman (University of Miami)
12:45 - 13:00 Q & A Session
13:00 - 14:00 Lunch
14:00 - 15:15 Panel III: Global and Regional Actors in the Settlement of Law of the Sea Disputes
Chair: Prof. Shotaro Hamamoto (Kyoto University)
Speakers: Prof. Esa Paasivirta (European Commission), Prof. Rosemary Rayfuse (University of New South Wales), Mr Michael Lodge (International Seabed Authority)
15:15 - 15:30 Q & A Session
15:30 - 16:00 Coffee Break
16:00 - 17:15 Panel IV: Case Study: Dispute Settlement in the Arctic
Chair: Prof. Erik Franckx (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)
Speakers: Prof. David VanderZwaag (Dalhousie University), Prof. Vyacheslav Gavrilov (Far Eastern Federal University), Mr Rolf Einar Fife (Ambassador of Norway to France)
17:30 - 17:45 17:30 - 17:45 Concluding Remarks
Prof. Sean D. Murphy (George Washington University)
17:45 - 19:00 Reception

If you are interested in participating in this conference, please send your reservation request to events@mpi.lu or contact Martina Winkel: (+352) 26 94 88 923.

The participation is free of charge.

Max Planck Institute Luxembourg
4, rue Alphonse Weicker
L-2721 Luxembourg