Second Consecutive Award of the Otto Hahn Medal to a Researcher at the Max Planck Institute Luxembourg

25 June 2021

The Max Planck Institute Luxembourg is proud to announce that, on 23 June 2021, the Otto Hahn Medal was awarded to Dr Ana Harvey, a former research fellow of the MPI Luxembourg now a Lecturer in Law at the Department of Law and Finance of the University of Bedfordshire. For the second consecutive year, a research fellow at the MPI Luxembourg is the recipient of such prestigious and internationally renowned award.

Dr Ana Harvey has received the 2020 Otto Hahn Medal for her exceptional legal work in the area of international arbitration and comparative procedural law with a special focus on fair trial standards. Her research culminated in a PhD thesis successfully defended at the University of Luxembourg in February 2020. Her doctorate entitled “Public Hearings in Investor-State Arbitration: Revisiting the Principle” examines the evolution, scope, and operation of the principle of public hearings in light of recent trends in investor-state arbitration (and beyond) towards more transparency.

Professor Burkhard Hess, Director at the MPI Luxembourg and supervisor of Dr Ana Harvey’s thesis, stated: “I am pleased, that Dr Harvey’s doctoral title was awarded by the University of Luxembourg: this achievement stands for the fruitful cooperation between the two institutions. In her thesis, Dr Ana Harvey has shown how the internet and digitization change the perception of justice in modern society.”

The prestigious award takes its name from German chemist and Nobel Prize laureate Otto Hahn, who was the first president of the Max Planck Society between 1948 and 1960.

The award includes the medal and the sum of 7.500 euros. Medallists are honoured during an annual ceremony held at the General Meeting of the Max Planck Society in Germany. This year’s ceremony was conducted online on June 23rd from Berlin and Munich.